I am Fernando Garrido Vaz, professional geek. As a former colleague once said to me, a specialist at being a generalist. I am a Product Manager who loves to figure out what it takes to make a product great. Over the years I have worked with web products in various industries, both B2B and B2C. I believe that having strong opinions based on experience is great and that backing that up with data is even better.

I have experience in all aspects of the Product Development Lifecycle, including the creation and validation of MVPs, Customer Development, road mapping and data-driven optimization. I am experienced working as a Scrum Product Owner in agile teams, and I am a CSPO (if you care about that sort of thing). I also have multiple years of experience managing distributed teams spanning multiple nationalities and time zones and setting up processes and tools for product management, project management, and software engineering.

I am happily married, have two daughters ages 9 and 5 and a boy who is 2. I currently live in Berlin, Germany. Before moving to Berlin I lived in Lages, in the state of Santa Catarina in Brazil (my home country). It’s the second southernmost state of the country, and it’s up in the mountains, so occasionally it snows here – did you know that about Brazil?

I have lived in England twice – from 1980 to 1981 and from 1990 to 1994. That’s where I learned to speak English, so sometimes I might use more letters than normal to spell things. But the real reason I mention this is that living abroad as a teenager shaped who I am today. Being a stranger and a foreigner makes you very good at adaptation. Also, as an immigrant, you end up meeting lots of other immigrants, and you learn that there are lots of different ways to go about life and to do the same things you do, and they all work, even though sometimes they’re very different. This sense of empathy and of seeing a situation through someone else’s eyes has become a useful skill. I also learned how to play cricket, though that has been less useful.

Nowadays I really love spending time with my family and exploring the world. One day maybe I can go back to trying to play the blues on guitar.